John Steinbeck – Of Mice and Men

Hi all!

I’m back with John Steinbeck’s “Of Mice and Men”, which turned out to be a really short story, but a very meaningful one. It kind of left me with mixed emotions, but the thing I know for sure is that I liked it. I liked the way it started out very simple, but became more and more deep with every chapter.

The story presents a piece from the lives of George and Lennie, who just received new jobs on a ranch. The two characters are quite different as Lennie is a big, strong guy, but a bit slow mentally, while George is shorter, but quick in thought. We find out gradually that they have been traveling together for a while now, and they take care of each other. We also learn that Lennie likes to touch and pet things that are nice to the touch, and this has lead him into trouble before. Unfortunately, things don’t go all that great on this ranch either.

What I liked about the book was that it gave insight to the lives of these “traveling” workers, who don’t have a farm of their own, but go to where they can get a job. It was really touching how the fact that they really yearned for a place of their own, but knew they will never get it, unraveled in the book. And it was sad at the same time, because they never felt like they’ve belonged anywhere and they knew by their ways that they never will.

The ending of the book was a bit of a shock and it really touched me by the heart. It was even sweet in a really twisted and heartbreakingly sad way. And if I think about what I would’ve done, I honestly have no idea. And even so, understanding the motives, it still feels wrong somehow. And this is what I meant by the mixed feelings before.

Anyway, it’s a great book and it deserves to be read, so I wholeheartedly recommend it. Not many books manage to touch me this much, so that really is in favor of this one.

If you would like to read it online, you can find it here: Of Mice and Men.

That’s all for now, next time I’ll be talking about Audrey Niffenegger’s “The Time Traveler’s Wife”.

Until then, have a nice day and a nice read!

Leave a Reply

