Meg Cabot – When Lightning Strikes (1-800-Where-R-You #1)

Hi all!

I’m finally feeling back on track after the weeks of reading nothing and I feel highly ambitious about reading as many books I can get my hands on 🙂

After I’ve started reading this book, I wasn’t sure if it was a good idea, because it is part of a series and I usually read series books one after the other, so I won’t forget what’s going on and stuff. But I finished the first one really fast, in about two days, and I guess it’ll be the same with the rest because it’s the type of book you can get through very fast.

It falls in the category of teen fiction, and I guess that’s why I didn’t like it all that much. I’m not saying it was bad. I found it interesting and I did kind of like it, but I felt like something was missing. I guess this is the sort of book that when you’re at that age (around 16-17), you find it great, but I’m not a teen anymore (sadly 😛 ) and so I guess I’ve kind of grown out of it. But of course, this is only my opinion 😀

Anyway, as you can probably see on the cover picture, it wasn’t originally published under the name Meg Cabot, but Jenny Carroll.

The book presents the story of Jessica Mastriani, a 16 year old girl, who gets hit by lightning and thus receives an amazing gift: she becomes psychic. This new ability helps her to find missing children, and she shares her knowledge through a hot-line dedicated just for this: 1-800-Where-R-You.

She soon becomes a sort of national hero and the government starts to have interest in her. For the sake of her family, she accepts to go to Crane Military Base for tests, but things start to get complicated as she hears that the case of one of the children she’s found didn’t turn out for the best.

The story, as I said, is interesting and if you’re looking for something you can go through quick and easy, then this is the book for you 🙂

If you want to read it online, you can do it here: When Lightning Strikes. You can also download it from there if you prefer to read it offline.

So, that’s all for now and next time I’ll be talking about book 2 of the series: “Code Name Cassandra”.

Until then, have a nice day and a nice read 🙂

Leave a Reply

