Stephen King – The Eyes of the Dragon

Hi all!

As promised, I’m back with Stephen King’s “The Eyes of the Dragon” and I have to say, this story was quite a surprise for me.

When I think of Stephen King (and I’m sure it’s not just me), I think of horror stories. So you can imagine my surprise, when I read what this story was about. But it sounded interesting nonetheless and it did turn out quite captivating.

When I was small, I always enjoyed stories with kings and queens, dragons and wizards, and I had a kind of nostalgic feeling when I started reading this story. But as it turns out, it’s a bit more than just your ordinary fairytale.

The story presents the kingdom of Delain, ruled by king Roland, along with his right hand man, the wizard Flagg. But Flagg’s concern isn’t to help the kingdom, but rather to destroy it. And of course, the king doesn’t have a clue.

Roland, at a very late age, finally gets married and has two sons, Peter and Thomas, who grow up to be very different personalities. Peter is talented in everything he does and loved by the people of Delain. And Thomas… Well, you can imagine how he turns out, living in Peter’s shadow.

The story gets more interesting when Flagg discovers that if Peter will be king (and he eventually will), there will be no place for his evil doings in Delain. So he comes up with an evil plan to get rid of not only the old Roland, but also the young heir. His plan succeeds, but sadly for him, this isn’t the last he will hear of Peter.

The plot of the story is, as I said before, really captivating and the author pays much attention to detail, not only in the actions, but also in the psychological presentation of the characters. And considering this, I have to say that this story seems rather complex.

I really enjoyed it and would definitely recommend it, even for nostalgia’s sake 😛 And now that I’m finished with it, I kinda feel sad because it’s over. But I guess it’s always like this when I finish a good book 🙂

I don’t really know where you can read this one online, but if you want to download the ebook, you can do it here: The Eyes of the Dragon

I guess that’s all for now, and next time I’ll be talking about something a bit different: Meg Cabot’s first book from the 1-800-Where-R-You series, “When Lightning Strikes”.

Until then, have a nice day and a nice read 🙂

Leave a Reply

