Edgar Allan Poe Shortstories Part XIII

Hi all!

I’m back with part 13, and as I said before, there’s not much left. And this is definitely a good thing, because as I have also mentioned, I’m done reading them, but not so much with the review part. Actually, I’ve already read another book, for which I can’t wait to post a review, because I really liked it. But first, let’s finish this series πŸ˜€

This time I’ll be presenting 6 works again, and as before, the titles are links to where you can read them online πŸ™‚

Lionizing

This story is a pretty funny one, and quite short, so definitely worth reading.

The main character and narrator is Robert Jones, who was said to be a genius from a very early age, because he “took hold of his nose”. He then studied Nosology and saw that as his true calling. And his nose was indeed admired by everyone who saw it.

But sadly, a change in his fate occurs, when he shoots off the nose of Bluddennuff in a duel.

The Unparalleled Adventure of One Hans Pfaall

This story is a quite long one, but it’s actually pretty interesting. It presents the adventures of Hans Pfaall, who becoming very poor and in debt, decides to do something no one has done before: travel to the moon. And he does this in a really strange way. By balloon πŸ˜€

What I liked about the story was that this again presented another side of Poe, because it has a lot of astronomical and geographical references to it. Of course, the suppositions made about the moon are mistaken, but I can’t really decide if Poe just made that up or that was indeed what was believed at that time.

Anyways, I liked this one and I would recommend it πŸ™‚

King Pest

This is an interesting story of two seamen, who try to run from an inn, because they drank but didn’t want to pay.

They are chased into the part of the town that was quarantined because of the plague. They don’t hesitate in entering the district and they soon find an interesting company in one of the buildings πŸ™‚

The Landscape Garden (another title is The Domain of Arnheim)

This is a mostly descriptive story, that presents a friend of the narrator, Mr. Ellison, who has always been of good fortune, and therefore happy. Here, Poe describes the conditions of happiness, one of them leading to Art.

Mr. Ellison chooses landscape gardening as his form of art, and describes what this means to him. We witness as an artist speaks of his art, which alwaysΒ  seems a beautiful thing to me, because I consider myself an artist and I think there is no greater beauty than presenting a part of your soul through your own creation. And this certainly leads to a form of happiness πŸ™‚

Landor’s Cottage

This story is a quite beautiful one, but it is again rather a description, than a story with an actual plot.

The narrator presents in great detail a beautiful and dreamy valley with a charming house. And as he describes it, you can actually feel his love for nature and art, and this, as I said before, is something I like to hear (or read, in this case :P).

The Power of Words

This story is much like The Colloquy of Monos And Una, having the same style (has the form of a dialogue between the characters) and has a similar philosophical theme.

The two characters Oinos and Agathos speak about the large effect that people have even by the wave of their hands or the words they speak. It’s a really beautiful story and it makes you think of what we really are capable of doing without even knowing it πŸ™‚

So I guess that’s all for now, and I’ll be back soon with the last part of the Poe series.

Until then, have a nice day and a nice read πŸ™‚

4 responses to “Edgar Allan Poe Shortstories Part XIII

  1. Pingback: Interesting Facts

  2. thank you πŸ™‚
    it’s nice to know when someone likes what I write πŸ™‚

  3. kudos to you for writing such an amazin blog my friend, you are very talented & you should be proud of your writing skills! I’m sure you got a high score on the sats lol

Leave a Reply

