Edgar Allan Poe Shortstories Part IV

Hi all 🙂

I’m back with Part 4 of the Poe series, again with 4 short-stories. As I said before, sometimes I found Poe’s language and use of expressions a bit difficult to follow, because English is not my native language, but as I read more and more of his stories, it doesn’t seem all that difficult anymore 🙂 I am definitely enlarging my vocabulary, which is always a good thing 🙂

Anyway, enough about me, lets get to those stories 😛 As usual, the titles are links to where you can read them online 🙂

The Island of the Fay

This is a really beautiful story that I really loved. I love Poe, but I think this is the first time that he actually inspired me. I like to write, but I sometimes (actually, almost every time 😛 ) get sidetracked and don’t finish what I started to write. In these cases I need a little push or something that makes me want to write and finish what I started. And this story really made me feel like I want to finish one of my stories.

In this story (which actually is more of a contemplation than a story with a plot) the narrator talks about music, about God and the universe as he perceives it. In the second part, he describes an island, with the western half flourishing and beautiful, and the eastern half, having a more dark and melancholic image.

He contemplates upon the idea of life and death, as he follows the path of a fay circling the island. The setting sun adds to the atmosphere, and the whole seems really beautiful and sad at the same time.

Ligeia

This is another horror-ish story and I liked it, but still, not my favorite. I’m saying horror-ish, because it’s not so much scary, as in a bit disturbing and weird.

The story is about the beloved wife of the narrator, Ligeia, who is greatly admired and cherished. Her beauty is described in great detail, as well as her other admirable traits.

She soon falls ill and passes away, which leaves the narrator heartbroken. But, after some time, he does remarry, although his new wife, Lady Rowena doesn’t bring him as much joy as Ligeia did.

Weird things start to happen around them, accentuating more as Lady Rowena falls ill with no hope of her survival. And, as expected, there’s an interesting twist at the end 🙂

The Man of the Crowd

This is an interesting story, but not because of the plot. It presents the narrator, sitting in a coffee house and watching the crowd of people who pass by.

And the interesting thing is actually the way he really sees people. First, he looks for categories of people, identifying them by specific traits. Then he watches the faces, that quickly move by. And that’s when an old man catches his attention.

He starts to follow the old man, trying to figure him out. This goes on for more than a day, until he finally understands it. And it isn’t some intriguing secret that makes the old man so special. And if you think about it, he’s not all that different 🙂

Manuscript Found in a Bottle

This story is again an interesting one because of its theme. And maybe it’s just me, but when I saw the title, I was expecting a certain plot, but it wasn’t what I expected. And I kinda like this in a story/book when it’s not what it seems 🙂

The story presents the narrator at sea on a sailing ship. They, then, get into a storm and almost all of the people on board die. But the ship travels on and they soon encounter another ship. And that ship isn’t an ordinary one.

Somehow the narrator gets on board of the other ship and tells us about the crew. And the crew isn’t ordinary either.

By the end, we find out that we are actually reading the manuscript of the narrator, which could only mean one thing. And I won’t tell you what 😛 I think it’s an interesting story, so read it and find out 🙂

So, I guess that’s all for now and I’ll be back soon with Part V 😀

Until then, have a nice day and a nice read 🙂

Leave a Reply

