Edgar Allan Poe Shortstories Part I

Hi all 🙂

First of all, I now declare this month to be Poe-month, which means I will dedicate February (or at least what’s left of it 😀 ) to reading the works of Edgar Allan Poe.

He is one of my favorite poets/writers, because he has an interesting style and vision. I’ve read most of his poems, maybe even all, but I can’t be sure, and I’ll probably be presenting some of my favorites during this month. But for now, I will be talking a bit about 4 works, not much, because they’re quite short and I want to leave something for the reader too 😀

So here they are (click on the title to read it online 🙂 ):

The Angel of the Odd

This was the first short-story I read, because I remembered one of my friends talking about it, and she said it was really weird and didn’t make much sense. But it kinda did 😀

The story is told in the first person, and presents the narrator reading about some strange accident in the paper and he doesn’t believe it. Because of this, he is visited by the Angel of the Odd, a very interesting fellow, with a German accent, and tries to persuade him to believe in these odd happenings. After the visit, unexpected things start to happen, which change the narrator’s mind.

I really enjoyed this short-story, for more reasons. It was funny at places, weird at others and it is unmistakably Poe 😀

The Balloon Hoax

This story is rather different than the first one, both in style and content. It presents a fictitious balloon ride across the Atlantic ocean, something not even slightly possible at that time. But still, as the beginning part tells us, many people got excited over the false news. And I think with good reason.

The story presents details of the balloon and of the journey in great detail, making the story rather credulous. Journal entries are also included, written by two passengers of the vehicle. It is very realistic and really down-to-earth.

I have to admit, though, that I found it a bit boring, but I understand that there was a reason behind the style. But, I guess, it’s not for everyone 😀

Berenice

This story is the perfect example of what I imagined Poe’s stories to be like. The style is interesting, but the writing maybe a bit hard to understand (maybe just for me, because English is not my native language 😀 ), but I love it nonetheless.

The whole story has a gloomy atmosphere, as it presents the difficult-to-explain mental illness of the narrator and the illness of the once beautiful and lively Berenice, the narrator’s cousin. It gets really creepy by the end, with an even creepier turn of events at the end as we understand what actually happened.

So if you like horror or horror-ish stories, this one’s for you 🙂

The Black Cat

This is another impressive horror story. It’s about an alcoholic man, who tortures and kills his once loved cat. The story is told from his point of view.

Supposedly because of his actions his house burns down and they have to move. He soon finds a replacement for his dead cat, one who is black like Pluto (his former cat) was, but has a white spot on his chest.

The narrator, to his surprise, does not get to love the cat, but rather starts to dread the animal. This leads to other cruelties on his part.

The story is pretty good and has an interesting turn at the end, and a really creepy one, I might add 🙂

So that’s about it for now, stay tuned for Part II of the series 🙂

Until then, have a nice day and a nice read 🙂

2 responses to “Edgar Allan Poe Shortstories Part I

Leave a Reply

