Karl May – The Oil Prince

Hi all πŸ™‚

I just finished reading “The Oil Prince” and I was pleasantly surprised again. Actually this was the first “western” book recommended by my Mom, but I chose to read “Winnetou” first, because it was on my list of to-read books and, frankly, I didn’t really like the title πŸ˜€ I know the second reason is stupid, and I really should know better, because this happened to me before, when reading “The Hunger Games”. I didn’t like that title either, but now, that is one of my favorite books of all time. But even so, it was a wise choice to read it second and you’ll see why in just a moment πŸ™‚

The story contains three sub-plots woven together: the road of the German immigrants who want to settle in the West, the war between two tribes of the Apache Indians and a plan to scam a wealthy banker to buy a fake oil reserve.

During the story, we meet some old acquaintances from “Winnetou”: Sam Hawkins, Will Parker and Dick Stone, not to mention Old Shatterhand and Winnetou themselves. They, along with some other famous figures of the West, join the immigrants and the little group of the banker as they head for the prairie.

The story is interesting, with many twists and turns, as new and unexpected dangers emerge, not to mention the duty to save the banker from the hands of the oil prince.

I have to say that I think I liked this one better than “Winnetou” and I think the timing, along other things, had to do something with it πŸ˜€ I didn’t have to worry about exams, or work and I could relax and read when I wanted to πŸ™‚

As I said before, I like to read about interesting habits, and this book gave another look into the lives and ways of the Indian tribes. It was interesting to see, how they perceive honor, war, victory and defeat, not to mention who they see as enemy.

Another thing I liked was the way the idea of murder was presented. When it was done by the bad guys, they did it without hesitation and even with pleasure, and when it came to the good guys, they always tried to remain clear of it, not killing anyone unless it was necessary. And I think this is a good way to make a point.

So anyway, I liked this book and I would recommend it to anyone. Unfortunately, I didn’t find it online, but if anyone knows where I can find it, please tell me so I can put a link for others πŸ™‚

That’s all for now, and next time I’ll be doing something a little different. I’ve been meaning to read Poe’s short-stories for a while now, so I’ve decided to do a series on them, 3-4 at a time, or maybe more if they’re really short πŸ˜€

Until then, have a nice day and a nice read πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

