Jonathan Swift – Gulliver’s Travels

Hi all 🙂

After a considerably long time ( almost two weeks for a book this size is so not me 😛 ), I’m finally back with “Gulliver’s Travels”. And I’m shocked. You know how they say for some things that once you’ve read it, it can never be unread. Well, I think this is like that.

I always considered this to be a children’s book and now that I’ve finally read it, I realized I couldn’t be more wrong. If a piece of writing can be considered a slap in the face, this is definitely it. And it’s not just the irony you find in the story, but the fact that it all rings true. And it kinda hurts.

But lets just start at the beginning.

The book presents four journeys of a Mr. Lemuel Gulliver, each journey in a separate part and the story is told from his point of view. These journeys lead him to different lands unknown to the rest of the world, each fascinating in its own way.

Putting aside the physical differences between the inhabitants of these lands and humans (the Lilliputians are much smaller, the citizens of Brobdingnag are giants, etc. ), the moral differences or similarities are the ones that really matter.

In the first parts the author uses irony to portray the faults and immoral behavior of human kind, but attacking them head on in the last. It was really shocking to see all the wrong in the world presented like that. And really, the worst part was knowing that it is true. It did hurt though, because I felt that he didn’t even give a fighting chance to those who are considered good, or at least better than the rest. But than again it made me wonder how an outsider would see us as a species? And knowing our history, with all the wars for the right causes and all the mean and violent things that go on in the world, I wouldn’t be surprised if those outsiders did view us as Yahoos. And I’m ashamed for that. And I think we all should be.

This was definitely a powerful book, and actually, I’m glad I didn’t read it when I was little, because I probably wouldn’t have understood it as it was meant.

The ending, though, seemed a bit exaggerated, even if I consider what Gulliver went through, but maybe that’s just me. Besides that, I really liked the book, it had interesting ideas and interesting ways of making a point. I would definitely recommend it, and if you have already read it when you were little, I think you should take the time to reread it.

For those of you who would like to read it online, you can find it here: Gulliver’s Travels

So I guess that’s all for now, next time I’ll be presenting Karl May’s “Winnetou”. Until then, have a nice day and a nice read 🙂

One response to “Jonathan Swift – Gulliver’s Travels

Leave a Reply

