Suzanne Collins – Mockingjay

Hi all!

As promised, I’m back with the third and last book of “The Hunger Games”, “Mockingjay”. I finished reading it last night, and even though it was pretty late, I just couldn’t put it down. By this you can assume that I loved it. And I did.

This book is definitely different than the first two, because here the accent isn’t on the actions and the plot itself, but rather on the emotional side, portraying the importance of morals in a time of crisis. This book isn’t a happy one. I expected it to have at least an optimistic atmosphere, but it didn’t. Well, not until the end anyway.

The book starts by presenting Katniss in the ruins of District 12. Few people managed to get to safety when the district was bombed and 13 offered them safety, because 13 had a plan. Using Katniss as the Mockingjay, the image of the rebellion, District 13, with president Coin as its leader, sowly but surely gets the other districts to join the uprising. As the battle grows, the Capitol is cut off from its suppliers and the main goal from then is to take the Capitol itself.

The real horrors start to happen when they realize that the City is like the arena, full of deadly traps. And Katniss, along with her comrades, has to face nothing less than another version of the Hunger Games.

I have to admit that when I read about a third of it, I wasn’t all that crazy about the story. I missed the action. But the end compensated for that. Even more than I wished.

As I said before, I think the power of this book comes from presenting how tragic and critical situations can affect morals. How someone would torture people just to break their enemies. How a person who wanted to rebel against cruelty agrees to do just that out of revenge. And how fighting for the right cause isn’t always done with the right weapons. It is about friendship and betrayal, love and hate, truth and deceit, all in one. And I guess in the end, it comes down to the question Haymitch was referring to in book two: who is the enemy?

This book really made me think. About our own wars and desperate need for power to control others. And I guess we’re not all that different from the people presented in the book. But thankfully, there are always people who try to fight for what is good without bloodshed. And maybe that is the hardest war of all.

So all in all, I have to say that this was a really great book and a really intense one. What got to me the most was the way the author managed with one single sentence to portray a world of images and emotions. The way pain was hidden under irony. And the way that couple of words could destroy even the illusion of happiness.

The end, though, has a hint of optimism, but you can still feel all the pain that preceded the world they live in the present. The last sentence is burned into my mind, as a lesson I guess. And I am really happy that I read this book, even though it only makes me sad. And I know some of you might consider it stupid, because it’s just a book. Well, it’s not just a book to me. No book is just another thing I read. And because of this, I already miss the characters and I know that this book, this trilogy, will always be close to my heart.

So for those who would like to read it online, you can find it here: Mockingjay

That’s all for now, next time I’ll be presenting something more classic: Gulliver’s Travels. Until then, have a nice read and a nice day šŸ™‚

One response to “Suzanne Collins – Mockingjay

  1. Thanks for this post, it is great

Leave a Reply

