Suzanne Collins – The Hunger Games

Hello again πŸ™‚

I’ve just finished “The Hunger Games”, which, I haven’t mentioned before, is in fact a trilogy and now I’m dying to start the second book, but I thought I would speak about this one first, while my opinions are fresh πŸ˜€

I have to say I loved it, even though the story is sometimes tragic, considering both the actual happenings and the motives behind the happenings. The style is great, because it really draws you in and keeps you in suspense and you fly through the pages without noticing it. I love and hate this at the same time πŸ˜€ I love it because this way it is never boring, and I hate it because you reach the end really fast πŸ˜€

The story is set in the future, after the fall of the United States and in its place, a new country named Panem arises. It consists of the Capitol and twelve (once thirteen) districts. The districts are relatively poor and the laws are harsh and unfair, trying to keep the districts from rebellion. As a punishment for a previous rebellion, each year the Hunger Games are organized, just to remind the people that the leaders can do to them whatever they want. The Games have the following rules: from each district a boy and a girl are chosen, who are sent to fight and kill each other in a prepared arena. The winner will be rich and also his/her district will receive some prizes consisting mainly of food.

When one of my friends recommended this book, this is where she got when I became really interested and wanted to read it right away. The whole thing seemed so wrong, so absurd, that I had to know how it will turn out.

The first book is mainly about the actual game, with all its horrifying details. There are parts when I actually felt like crying, it was so sad. And other times I couldn’t help smiling at the love-story part of it. The credit here goes undoubtedly to the great writing.

This book was interesting, fascinating, captivating, terrifying, bizarre and shocking at the same time. And I can’t wait to start the second book, because I want to know how the characters will continue to fight against the cruelty of the Capitol and I actually hope that somehow they will rid themselves of the tyrants.

If I’ve intrigued you and you would like to read it, you can find it online here: The Hunger Games

That’s all for now, and I’ll be back shortly with the sequel of The Hunger Games entitled “Catching Fire”.

Until then, have a nice day πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

