William Golding – The Spire

Hi all! 🙂

I hope everyone had a great New Year’s and had a good start on 2011. I for one am very confident and I hope I will keep my resolutions 🙂 . One of them, that I didn’t even add to the list, because I think I would keep it anyway, is that I want to read even more, and not just classic stuff. So if anyone has any suggestions, be it any kind on any theme, please tell me so I can add it to my always growing list of must-read books 🙂

And now, back to The Spire 🙂

I have to admit, that I was a bit worried that it was going to be like the Lord of the Flies. I mean, I loved that book, but that kind of a shock is enough for a while 😀
But now, I wish it was a bit more like that. At least, the story telling part.

The story itself is actually quite good, because it presents the struggles of a man, Dean Jocelin, who believes with all his being that he had a vision from God, telling him to build a tower for his church. He sticks by his idea even though everyone, including Roger, the master builder considers it a bad if not a catastrophic idea, because they are convinced that it will not hold and it will collapse.

But even though, the tower gets built, but with a price. Tragedies start to happen, both on the physical and psychological planes of the story. And even though the actual tragedies are harsher, Jocelin’s psychological struggle seems more fascinating. He is slowly driven into a state of madness, but still, his only concern is the tower, which finally stands, against all odds.

I guess I don’t really know what to think of this story, because I find it weird in a way. It’s really good, in the way that it makes you think about how far a man would go to achieve his will and about the consequences of his actions. It was interesting to see how the events reflect on Jocelin’s behavior and state of mind, and it was a really fascinating psychological presentation. But on the other hand, I can’t seem to find it very credulous. Not as much as the Lord of the Flies. So I guess that is why the story bothered me a bit. And also the writing, which was really blurry at times and that made it a bit hard to follow. But the rest was okay.

So I guess I would recommend it to those who like psychological novels, but I warn you, beware the long descriptions! 😛

I couldn’t find the book online, but if anyone knows where I can find it, let me know so I can add a link 🙂

That’s all for now, next time I’ll be talking about “The Hunger Games”, which was recommended by a friend and sounds really interesting. So, I guess I’ll be back with details later 🙂

Have a nice day 🙂
Bye 🙂

Leave a Reply

