Dan Brown – Digital Fortress

Wow. Dan Brown has done it again. And the funny part is, that when I was at about the half of the book, I actually felt a little disappointed. It wasn’t what I expected it to be. Sure, it was the typical style with parallel storylines that connected in the end and it did have strange events, but somehow I wasn’t in awe like I was with The Da Vinci Code and Angels & Demons.

Even though it did have a more adventurous part with David Becker in Spain, I missed the puzzles and games from the other books. But as I came close to the ending, to my surprise and joy, there it was. And it was great.

What I loved most about it, was that I actually felt part of the team, trying to figure out the secret code and there were indeed things I guessed on my own, but I never solved the whole mystery. It was fun, it was thrilling and because I could actually feel time running out, I read the last chapters like crazy.

So I have to say, that in the end, this book did live up to my expectations. And they were high. I also loved the theme of the book, because I like cryptography and so I felt more involved. I was really excited when I saw the code after the last chapter and I dove right into solving it. Unfortunately, I have a bad habit of complicating things, so I was really disappointed when I didn’t get the result I was hoping for. I knew the numbers were referring to letters so I made a table with the alphabet and used the numbers modulo 26 to identify the correct letter. Actually, I don’t wanna go into that 🙂

Anyway, the answer was much more easy to find, but at least I was on the right track 🙂

All in all, it was a great book, it had interesting information about cryptography, about the government, the NSA, and even about Hiroshima and Nagasaki. I would recommend it to everyone and I’m almost sure anyone would like it.

If you want to read it online, you can find it here: Digital Fortress

So, that’s all for now, next time I will be talking about Dante’s “Divine Comedy”. Have a nice weekend!

Leave a Reply

