Jerome K. Jerome – Three Men in a Boat

First of all, I would like to say a few things about myself and this blog I’m starting.

I’m not going to tell my name, because it seems to me that is doesn’t really make a difference. But you can call me Sy and what there is to know about me is pretty much summed up in the title of the blog.

I’m a really passionate reader and a really fast one if I get my hands on a good book, so what I will do here is to present books I’ve read, give some comments about it and if possible, I’ll even give a link to the place you can find and read it online. So let’s start 🙂

Three men in a BoatThis was a book I’ve started to read quite a while back, then forgot about it, and now I finally managed to finish it. I know this doesn’t make it sound like an excellent read, but actually it’s quite pleasant. I don’t really know why I didn’t finish it in the first place.

But anyway, the story is about three men, George, Harris and J. (the narrator himself),  going on a boat trip on the river Thames and the things they have to face during this trip. The book is seasoned with humorous stories that the characters tell on the way, and it’s a great example of English humor. I know I’ve laughed a couple of times at the witty jokes 🙂

I’ve also done a little reading on the book on Wikipedia, and it turns out that the book was also intended as a travel guide, and that kinda makes sense. The author varies the funny stories with great and almost poetic descriptions of the sights they encounter and the important landmarks they visit.

All in all, I would say that it’s a pretty good book, and I would recommend it to those who are in search for a pleasant, funny and not to demanding read.

If you would like to read it online, here’s where you can find it: Three Men in a boat

Well, that’s all for now, next time I’ll be talking about Margaret Mitchell’s Gone with the Wind. Have a pleasant day.

Leave a Reply

