Audrey Niffenegger – The Time Traveler’s Wife

Hi all!

As promised, I’m back with Audrey Niffenegger’s “The Time Traveler’s Wife”, which was indeed an interesting read. It had an original approach to the classic love story and gave new meaning to fate, soul mates and fidelity.

At first I though I wouldn’t like it so much because I’ve already seen the movie, and it did seems so, to my disappointment, after the first few chapters. But later on it got better. It started getting new and different from the movie and I’ve realized that I should stop comparing them, so I did. And it was much better after that. I ended up giving it 5/5 stars and I think it deserves it.

The title of the book gives the story away and so that is pretty much what the book is about. But it was the little things, seemingly hidden within the actions, that actually made the book a great one.

The book presents the story of Henry and Clare, who’s love seems to transcend time. Henry meets Clare when he’s 28 and Clear is a 20 year old art student. But Clare has know Henry since she was six. This weird situation can be explained by the fact that Henry suffers from a condition that makes him time travel at random occasions, arriving usually at times that have some emotional meaning.

The two fall in love, seemingly united by fate, and try to live a normal life as much as possible. The book presents their life together, their joys and struggles, from both points of view.

I really liked the style of the book, because you could actually feel all that was going on, be happy or sad and I especially loved the tiny bits of the characters that made them real. They had flaws and pieces of their true personality seemed to appear in flashes.

All in all, I really enjoyed this book, and thanks to the perfect and sweet ending, it left me with a smile on my face. I think it is worth reading, but only if you have the time to really sink into it, because it’s fairly long.

If you would like to read it online, you can find it here: The Time Traveler’s Wife.

That’s all for now, next time I’ll be presenting Sylvia Plath’s “The Bell Jar”.

Until then, have a nice day and a nice read :)

One response to “Audrey Niffenegger – The Time Traveler’s Wife

  1. I agree that it’s best not to compare this to the movie. Like you, I watched the movie first so it was a little difficult for me to get into this. I ended up enjoying it though! Lovely review. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

